First Day of School

 

It’s that time of year again, and time for a new outfit for back to school.  I only made a new outfit for G2, since the others are getting too old for that kind of thing.  Here she is, already to go – Look out, Kindergarten!

IMG_2246

 

The skirt is a basic ruffle skirt with some coordinating fabrics.  I might make her another one.  It’s quick and easy and she really likes it.

IMG_2247

The accents on her shirt are made with a new toy – the Whimsy Pinwheel from Kari Mecca.  It is a fun little tool, and has a few different applications.  I know I will use it again.

IMG_2249

 

The shirt pattern is Portrait Peasant  Top by the Scientific Seamstress.  I have made a few patterns from this line, and they are always easy with clear directions.  The only problem I had with this one was the fit.  I don’t know if it’s me, since there are many, many reviews on youcanmakethis.com, and no one else mentioned the fit, but it does seem very snug in the chest.  The first shirt I made to the size I measured was so tight that I couldn’t get it over G2′s head.  I ended up just gathering it a lot in the neck, and giving it to her as a doll dress.  The second I made in a bigger size, and it’s okay, but she can’t get it on without help.  I will probably make this pattern again, but add a few inches in width so it has more ease.  I think it would make an adorable nightgown, and the pattern has lots of options  - four sleeve lengths, ruffles, gathered waist.  The possible variations are almost endless.  It is very fast to make up, so I wasn’t too upset with the doll dress.  The fabric was given to me by someone who doesn’t really sew anymore, so the top was almost free.

IMG_2263I know all the babies like their new dress.

 

3 thoughts on “First Day of School

  1. Precious!! The dolly looks pretty cute too. I have the same problem, with the size of the neck openings etc. I made a set of p.j.’s for one of the grands last year, and had to take off the banding around the neck, trim it out, and build my own facing. Glad you figured it out. Love the fabrics. Tell us more about the new gadget…where you got it, what it does if you have time.

Leave a Reply

