Kitchen Quilt

 

I have a spot on the wall in my kitchen where I like to hang a little quilt.  I have three that hang there – my autumn quilt, my Christmas quilt, and my spring quilt.  I needed a generic quilt to hang between seasons.   This summer, I did the class Big Techniques from Small Scraps on craftsy.  I have taken a number of classes on Craftsy, and I love it.  The classes are videos, so you can watch them whenever you want, but you can also ask questions from the instructor and interact with others taking the class.  It has no time-constraints, so you can watch it a year later again if you forget things.

Big Techniques was taught by Sarah Fielke who is from Australia, so I also loved hearing her accent.  One of her projects was step-down piecing.  If you want to try it, you should take the class yourself, but you can see that the quilt is not made in rows like a traditional quilt.  I made this bigger than her sample, and it was easy to enlarge.  I thought the fabric was appropriate for a kitchen.

IMG_2224

 

IMG_2226

I quilted straight lines with my walking foot.  I don’t know if I’ll be in a hurry to try this again, since piecing in rows is much easier and straightforward, but it was fun to try and I like the finished result.  There are also a few more projects from Sarah’s class that I am looking forward to trying when I have the time.

 

One thought on “Kitchen Quilt

Leave a Reply

