Apologies from a bad blogger

I’m sorry to all my friends and relatives who have wondered what is going on.  In short, I have been doing a lot of sewing, just not a lot of blogging.  I do have a big backlog of projects to share, but I’ll start with the most significant.

drumroll, please …..

IMG_2414

 

Yes, it’s a good portion of the Dutch Quilt.  It is about 4 ft square.  All that is left is the outer border that is three hourglass blocks wide, and then another border fabric.  The blocks are complete, I just have to join them.  Now that it is getting bigger, it is not as portable, so I am working on it more at home.

I decided that I am going to stitch in the ditch along the diagonal lines, so that shouldn’t take long (relatively speaking).  People keep asking how long it’s taking me to do this.  I don’t have an exact number, since I haven’t kept track, and most of it has been done during things like the kids’ swimming and music lessons or times when I’m waiting for appointments.  My best estimate is that I’m about 150 hours in.  I have probably another 25-30 hours to finish piecing the top.  Quilting will take 10 – 20 hours depending on how densely I go.  The end is in sight, but my anniversary is in five months, so I’m really going to have to focus to get it done.  My husband thinks I’m crazy, since his motto is efficiency.  He cannot comprehend working by hand when I have state of the art, computerized machine that will do it for me.  Just to bug him, I added a “special” block.  He hasn’t noticed it yet, so if you see it, don’t tell him.  It is driving G1 crazy, and she wants to rip it out.

As a side note, all my points match perfectly working by hand.  If I did this by machine, there is no way that all points would match on blocks this small.  It would be very difficult.

I will update on my other projects over the next few weeks, but for now, I have to get back to work.

7 thoughts on “Apologies from a bad blogger

  1. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! Thanks for succumbing to the nagging and thanks for letting me be one of the naggers! LOL I found the surprise square, silly lady. :) You did an amazing job on this and I can’t wait until you share the final outcome with us!

Leave a Reply

