kids' clothes

Sewing with kids

I have four children.  (gasp!)  My oldest is a 10 year old girl.  She is occasionally interested in sewing, but it usually doesn’t last longer than about five minutes.  She is much more interested in picking projects for me to make for her.  She has different interests and talents, and that’s okay with me.  The world won’t stop because she doesn’t sew.  My other children are very active 7 and 5 year old boys and a little girl that just turned 2 last week.

So, you can imagine my skepticism when last year my son (just turned 6) asked if he could sew something.  I gamely went along with the idea, but I wasn’t expecting much.  I found a simple hat pattern made out of fleece, and what do you know, he made it!  It was a bit small, so he gave it to his baby sister with a lot of pride and then made a bigger one for himself.

When we moved, I forgot to pack winter hats, mitts, etc, so this year he asked if he could make another one.  I guessed at the pattern, so it wasn’t exactly the same, but it turned out fine.

I found a fleece-like baby blanket at the dollar store, and we used that.  I haven’t seen polar fleece here.  The original pattern was in the book “Making Fleece Crafts.”  We borrowed it from the library, but it would be worth buying.

I guess you never know with kids.  People that know him wouldn’t guess that he would be interested in sewing, but he was.  Maybe he’ll make a quilt next.

Leave a Reply

