kids' clothes

Sick Day

Today B1, my seven-year-old woke up with runny, puffy eyes.  I don’t know yet if it is an allergic reaction or an infection, but he had to stay home from school.  The problem was that he didn’t feel sick at all, so I had to come up with something for him to do.  After cleaning his room, he asked if he could make a shirt.  I suggested pajamas but the only fabric I had on hand was purple with little pink and orange animals.  Definitely too girl-ish and too baby-ish for him, but perfect for his little sister (which is why I bought it in the first place.)

I convinced him that he could make some for G2 as “practice” and then we could get some fabric for him to make for “real”.  This is the first time he has used a sewing machine, and I was amazed.

He did everything himself.

You don’t see people smiling and ironing at the same time very often.

His eyes gradually improved throughout the day.

FINISHED!

And modeled by a happy little sister.

He cut out and started a top, but it was too much to finish in one day.  If he has to stay home again, he’ll probably finish it.  He seems to be a natural, and no one is more surprised than me.  Look out, Quilt Dad!

2 thoughts on “Sick Day

  1. I am amazed. What a wonderful son and big brother he is. And his little sis looks simply adorable in her specially made pj’s.

    Looks like you all might need to get an extra sewing machine soon;-)

    Hope his eyes are better.

    Blessings,
    Jilly

    Like

Leave a Reply

