life in Korea

Korean Embroidery Exhibit

Yesterday and today I had the pleasure of attending a Korean embroidery exhibit.  This is different from the Korean sewing that I am doing.  This is like painting with thread.  It is similar to crewel work, but it is done on silk with silk thread.  It is very fine, with a lot of detail.

This is a dying art in Korea, since it is done by hand and takes 1 – 2 hours per square inch.  I could only imagine how long it would take to do a screen like this.  This sold for about $1200, but still, that is not a lot of money per hour.  It would be difficult to make a living doing this.

There is a lot of detail in the shading.

G2 did not fully appreciate what she was seeing.

This exhibit had many canvases laid out for sale.

They were all beautiful.

In ancient dynasties, rich families would have an embroidery room and their own personal embroiderer to decorate clothing and household items.

I heard a story that at one time, Korea owed a debt to the Chinese emperor, and it was paid by sending the best embroiderers to the Chinese court, thus introducing the technique to the Chinese.  I can’t verify the accuracy of the story, but it sounded nice.

I did end up buying a couple of little pieces.  I may keep them or use them as gifts.  They will be easy to tuck into a suitcase.

One thought on “Korean Embroidery Exhibit

  1. I’m just in awe and imagining the hours and hours that must take. Thanks for sharing a little bit of Korea with me. I love the glimpses I get from reading your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

