kids' clothes

Ottobre Shorts

I finished these near the beginning of the month, but I didn’t get around to posting.  These are some shorts for B1.

It is still VERY hot here, with high humidity, so he should be able to wear them well into the fall.  The advantage of shorts is that he can’t put holes in the knees.

The pattern is the ” ‘Bert’ shorts and bermudas” from the Summer 2009 issue of Ottobre Design.  This is a magazine from Finland that includes patterns for all the designs for that issue.  I have been drooling over the magazine for years, and it was on my list of “things I want to get when I get back to Canada” (which is unfortunately getting quite large.)  One day I was looking at the site and I realized that I am just as close to Finland now as I will be in Canada.  Outside Europe, international shipping is the same price – so I ordered a couple of issues.

The designs are beautiful, and very European-looking.  They are a wide variety of sizes, and my G1, who is almost as tall as I am, would still fit into the larger sizes of the girl clothes.  That is nice, since in most things she is now in women’s sizes at age 11.  The disadvantage is that the patterns have to be traced out from the pattern sheets, and this can be a bit fiddly.  But since I don’t have any sewing shops nearby where I can look for Simplicity, Butterick, etc., it is nice to have a selection of patterns at hand.

This style did have quite a bit of top-stitching and other decorative elements, including four pockets, and this was a bit of a stretch for me.  With kids clothes, I tend be more “get-it-done-quick-and-cheap-and-go-play-in-the-mud” (especially for the boys.)  B1 likes his shorts, but I don’t think he cares if they have back pockets or not.  I know these types of details are the difference between “hand-made” and “home-made”, but I’m not sure that matters in shorts for a 7-year-old boy.  It’s also the difference between one hour to make a pair and three hours to make a pair, and that does make a difference to a mother of four.

One thought on “Ottobre Shorts

Leave a Reply

