Korean patchwork

Korean Patchwork Give-Away

It’s been one year since I’ve started this blog, and a lot has changed since then.  I really began this to share with my friends and family what I was doing while away, but then I discovered Korean patchwork.  Now I get hits on my blog every day from people searching information about pojagi and Korean sewing.  I am not an expert, but I am happy to share what I am learning.

To celebrate one year, I decided to have a give-away.  I am going to give away two table runners made from ramie fabric.  This is an original design using a traditional technique called go-zhip-gy that I will do a tutorial on soon.

As you can see, the centre design is a Christmas tree.  Christmas as a celebration is relatively new thing in Korea, and tends to be a Christian holiday, not so much a secular holiday.  It is difficult to tell the colours, but the side panels are dark green and light green.

If you are interested in having one of these table runners, leave a comment on this post before Sunday, December 5.  You can comment on something that I’ve made or ask a question about Korea or Korean sewing.  Since I started this blog for people that I know, I decided that I will give one runner to someone that I know in person, and another to a friend from blog land.  If you know me in person, leave your first name and let me know that you are a real friend not just a virtual friend.  One name will randomly be chosen from each pile – good luck.

P.S. I have received a few messages from people wondering about the political turmoil in Korea right now.  It is far from where I am living, but it is a very small country.  We are in contact with the Canadian government who is monitoring the situation closely, and my husband’s employer has emergency evacuation plans in place.  Of course, we are praying that the situation can be resolved peacefully.  Thank you for your thoughts and concern.

5 thoughts on “Korean Patchwork Give-Away

  1. Aren’t you so very generous – giving away one of your hand made treasures.

    I have started learning about doing pojagi, sewing the seams with my machine. The stiffer the fabric, the more success I am finding. My plan is to make a hanging to be used as an entry in a show: Through the Looking Glass. Pojagi seems perfect for such a theme.

    Chimo,
    Jennifer

    Like

  2. I love your blog and everything you make too. I have two children adopted from Korea and we are hoping that we can go to Korea and live there for a few years in the near future. I love to sew too, so your blog is extra interesting to me! I have tried doing pojagi, with very limited success though – I have quite a few started but never finished projects. Diana

    Like

  3. Hey Lizzibeth!!! I didn’t know you were a sewer, until I started reading your blog. Which I follow regularly. It is great to “keep track” of you and your family!!! It was a pitty we didn’t have each others contact when you were here in Portugal. Maybe soon??!! I love your quilts and am enjoying seeing your new stitches. I myself only do cross stitch and also I do “decoupage”. I’ll have to take some pictures of the stuff I’ve made and post them on facebook. For Raquel I made a “Hello Kitty” bedspread, and now Sara want one too. You know how it is with two girls…..I would love to receive one of your runners!!!! If I don’t, well tough for me.
    Miss you.
    Merry Christmas.
    Paula

    Like

  4. Do brothers count as “real” friends? Or is this one of those “no one related to or related to anyone related to the corporation, parent corporation or related corporations are eligible as a recipient of aforementioned prizes” kind of contests?

    Will G2 do the picking? I’ll bribe her with candy and give it to her at Christmas!!!

    Jon

    Like

  5. Oh, I would love to have this. I’ve promised to donate a piece of pojagi for my guild’s fund raiser. Not yours, though! I found some curtain fabric at an outlet store that is very similar to ramie and it is working well.

    Thanks for the tutorial on seams. I knew there was a slight difference between this and our flatfelled seam, but had never found an explanation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

