Korean patchwork · tutorial

Go-Zhip-Gy Tutorial

I love go-zhip-gy.  I don’t know of an English word for the technique, so that is the Korean word.  The last syllable has a hard “g” like ghee not gee.  I love it because it is very easy and looks really good.  There are actually two techniques, but this one is my favourite.  The word “go-zhip-gy” actually means something like pinching up.  If any Korean experts read this, feel free to correct me – I cannot claim any degree of expertise with the Korean language.

The first thing you need is a design made with curved lines.  Straight lines would probably work, but I imagine right angle corners would be difficult.  Curves are traditional, but this tree design is not.  This is written on paper with a marker for a thick line.

Lay the ramie fabric over the design.  I imagine linen or some other fabric could be used, but it has to be pretty stiff and able to hold a crease easily.  When I visit Canada at Christmas, I will be checking out fabric to see what Western alternatives would be the best.

With a firm hand, trace the design onto the fabric.  I put a couple of cans of tuna on the fabric to stop it from shifting.

If you look closely, you can see the crease lines on the fabric.

Fold or pinch the fabric on the crease lines.

Using a large needle (like for cross stitch), thread with a large thread.  I used three strands of embroidery floss.  It can be either matching or contrasting thread, depending on the design.

While pinching the fabric, do a running stitch just below the fold.

Continue this along the line.  Most designs are continuous line, but with the tree, each line has to be done separately.  With the loose weave of the fabric, contrasting thread cannot be carried over on the back.

The stitching line is a bit raised, giving it a nice texture.

Here it is!

Leave a Reply

