embroidery · Korean patchwork · quilts

Block of the “bit more than a month”

Last year I began a block of the month from Willowberry Designs called “Under the Sea”.  It is adorable and I still love it, but I only managed to finish four blocks last year, so I guess that makes it block of the quarter rather than block of the month.  I just finished block #5, and block #6 is well on the way, so this year I should be able to finish.  Here are Sam and Sally Starfish.

I am going to use these designs for G2’s quilt, but the blocks are only 6″ x 9″.  To make a quilt close to bed-size, I will need to add quite a bit.  I think I’m going to augment it with some 9-patch blocks in white and bright colours.  I got some of the blocks in blue and green done, and I think it will look great.

These are the dullest of the colours.  The rest are bright pink, yellow, orange and purple.  It matches G2’s outgoing, exuberant personality perfectly.

This is my favourite of all the sea creatures I have done so far.  I’ve never seen such a cute jellyfish!

For my Korean patchwork class, I am still making half-square triangle blocks and joining them   It will be nice, but working by hand is SLOW.  I am also working on something big that I hope to have ready by the end of the month.

 

 

Leave a Reply

