life in Korea

How much is a stash worth?

WARNING:  To all my family and friends who are not quilters or crafters – you probably will not “get” this post.  Feel free just to shake your head and ignore.

This is most of the stash I have accumulated during our time in Korea.  The large green bag is silk scraps from my teacher.  It has all different sizes, weights and colours.  The orange bag is G1’s quilt strips all cut, and the tubes in front are for the boys’ quilts.  The rest is just a collection of leftovers or things I picked up because I liked them.  The basket in the front has embroidery on the top done by my grandmother.  The inside is also totally lined with fabric, including pockets.  (hmmm… Maybe I should do a post on the basket.)

I know this is not very big, as stashes go, but here is my dilemma –  We will be demobilizing sometime in the spring, so we are starting to ship things back to Canada.  How would you decide how much of your stash you would pay to ship around the world?    Obviously I will take back my finished quilt tops and special Korean fabric, but what about pieces left over?  How big does a piece have to be to make the cut?  Also (not shown) for my Pojagi Inspirations quilt, I was originally planning on making 35 blocks, but stopped at 20.  All the cutting is done for the other 15 blocks.  They are 2 1/2″ squares, 2 1/2 x 3 1/2″ rectangles, so they are quite versatile for other patterns.

We are not moving any furniture or large items, so it is not a matter of squeezing it into a container.  Anything I send will have to be boxed and mailed.

Oh yeah, although I did a huge purge before we left, I do have a stash of fabric and UFO’s in storage waiting for me when I get back.

I’m still thinking about it.  What would you do?

8 thoughts on “How much is a stash worth?

  1. I get it, I get it! What a choice to have to make. I’d send it all back, especially any silks. Silk is so expensive here. You should see my stash and it’s all cotton. Good luck!

    Like

  2. I’d say “Take it all”, but that would be hypocritical, since I had to make a similar decision one year ago now. From my experience – I regret not bringing/keeping quite a bit of my craft stuff because already I’ve had opportunity to use it – but it’s not here. So… with that in mind…. take it all home. (and that’s NOT a very big stash!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

