Korean patchwork

Another Guessing Game

Here is my latest Korean sewing project.  Ignore the loose threads – it is not finished yet.  Can you guess what it is going to be?

Here are some clues:

– most people have one, but it probably doesn’t look like this

– I’ve never made one before

– in Canada I will use it almost daily, here I don’t have a need for it

If you think you know what it is, leave a comment.  If I get energetic, I might give a prize.

I really like the stitching on the edge.  It is done with variegated silk thread.

The small pieces are also hand quilted with the same silk thread.  I snapped two needles in half while quilting.  I probably should have used a between, not a pojagi needle.

4 thoughts on “Another Guessing Game

  1. I really have no clue what this is! The top picture looks like a tulip with the top facing to the right. Our youngest even pointed at the picture saying “Look at the lips!”

    Does it have something to do with a) driving a car; b) carrying keys or c) teaching your kids?

    Like

  2. Rebecca guesses a tulip

    Joshua guesses a sunglasses case, or a cell phone case

    Caleb thinks it’s something to go in your hair.

    I have no idea, but the colours are beautiful, and I’m wondering how you’ve managed to sew with no working machine! ??

    Like

  3. Well…it definitely doesn’t look like a key chain, but because of your clues, that’s what I’m guessing it is. Back home I use a key chain every day, but my Korean car and Korean apartment both have keyless entry.

    Like

  4. Wow you guys are really good, I didn’t know what it was when I saw the finished product in person. Choco Pie got it – it’s a tulip key chain. When it is finished, I can demonstrate, but the keys get pulled up inside the flower when not in use. It seems huge to me, but I guess I won’t lose my keys very easily. I’ll probably need it after not carrying keys for two years.

    I’m sure the patterns could be adapted to make a sunglasses case or a cell phone case. Maybe a matching set?

    Like

Leave a Reply

