Korean patchwork

New Book!

A while ago I tried asking my Korean sewing teacher where I could get books about pojagi and Korean patchwork.  She didn’t seem to understand what I was asking.  Then a couple of weeks later she brought in a couple of her books for us to look at and get ideas for new projects.  There don’t seem to be many books available.  She teaches professionally and only has three or four books.  When I saw her book, I told her I wanted to buy it.  She agreed to try to order one for me.  Last week I missed my class since G2 was sick, but my Canadian friend in the class picked it up for me.  How exciting!

Keep in mind that these are photos of a book, so it doesn’t really do it justice, but I love seeing how the light goes through the pieces.

I want to make panels like the one above for my kitchen windows in Canada.  They seem plain, but when you look closer, there is decorative stitching in the middle part like this:

Now if only I can work in a trip to the fabric market in Seoul before we leave …

2 thoughts on “New Book!

  1. What a fabulous resource book you now own. Thanks so much for posting some of its pages on your blog. Would you mind letting me / us know the ISBN number? It should be found on the credit page where the publisher info is – that way it could possibly be tracked down by wannebe owners….
    Keep up the wonder work.
    Chimo,
    Jennifer Cooper

    Like

Leave a Reply

