life in Korea · travelling

Travel Sewing

In preparation for travelling, I have prepared some travel kits.  Fabric is cut and ready for hand sewing.  It is nice to have a project to work on especially if G2 goes to bed early and the other kids go to the pool with Dad.  On buses or airplanes, I can only sew for about fifteen minutes at a time or I’ll get motion sickness, but on even a two-hour flight I can get quite a bit done, even with taking breaks.  My kids are seasoned travellers by now, so they don’t need much attention.  (except G2, and she always sits with Daddy : )

These bright colours will eventually be a table runner.

These pieces of silk will be turned into pincushions.  The small rectangles will finish at 1 cm x 4.5 cm (0.5 in x 1.75 in) so they are quite small.  I can carry everything in a zip-lock sandwich bag so it doesn’t take up too much space.

If you’re wondering about taking sewing stuff on a plane, the only thing that is an issue with security is scissors.  It amazes me that I can take needles and pins on with no problem, but I have even had child’s safety scissors taken away in airports.  The issue with scissors seems to be size, so if you have small enough ones, they are not a problem.

These scissors came in a small mending kit – the kind that comes in hotels or dollar stores with pre-threaded needles.  Since they are small – less than 5 cm (2 in) – they have never been a problem.  They won’t cut much more than thread, but they are fine for what I need.  They probably would not cut yarn, so if you’re a knitter they wouldn’t work.  I have a friend who has a pair of folding scissors that she has taken through almost 100 airports with no problem, so that’s another option.

Leave a Reply

