quilts

Bento Box Quilt

Here we are into September and I am starting to re-think my goal to make a quilt for each of my children this year.  When my sewing machine in Korea died, I lost a lot of productive time.  Now we are back in Canada and I have my good machine again, but I am home schooling this year, so effectively working a full-time job which is really cutting into my sewing time.  So I don’t know if I’ll actually finish four quilts by the end of December, but I’ll give it a shot.  I have all the fabrics cut so it’s just a matter of doing it.  G1’s quilt will probably be done first.

Here it is, slightly wrinkled.  There is not enough white fabric to make all the blocks, so I am putting in some random dark blocks.  I’ll see how I like it.  Only a few more blocks to do and then I’ll probably machine quilt it with straight-line quilting.

This fabric was originally purchased to be summer dresses for the girls.  During the move to Korea I had no time for sewing, so I packed it and took it along.  In Korea, I realized that I didn’t bring the patterns for the dresses, so it sat for quite a while.  Eventually I decided to go with a quilt and cut it into strips and got a few blocks made before my machine died.  By then I was committed, so I shipped the pieces back to finish here.  Hopefully in September.

I’m sure this is old news to most quilters, but I just discovered that scrapbooking boxes that are designed to hold 12″ papers are the perfect size for quilt blocks.  I had always assumed that they would be too small since quilt blocks are 12 1/2″, but it’s a perfect fit.  This box is pretty shallow, so it probably won’t hold all thirty-five that I need for the top, but by the time I have that many, I’ll be assembling it.

2 thoughts on “Bento Box Quilt

Leave a Reply

