knitting

I blame blogging

Every once in a while, I get the compulsion to make something with yarn.  I knit and crochet.  I’ve never really tried weaving, but that’s because of space rather than lack of interest.  I have been admiring the Dutch Sister’s granny squares for a while.  When another of the blogs that I read had a post about granny squares, I knew I was sunk.  It was only a matter of time before I started some granny squares.  The last time I crocheted something was a blanket for my friend’s baby shower, and the baby just had her first birthday.  I fought it as long as I could.  After all, I still have hundreds of little blocks to hand-piece for my Dutch quilt, but when I went to the store to get backing fabric for G1’s quilt, I finally caved in.  I got some Bernat Satin Sport in bright colours.  The yarn is really soft and is great to work with.

This is what I’ve done this week:

The advantage that crocheting has is that after about 9 p.m. my eyes start to get tired, so doing fine hand work is difficult.  Crocheting doesn’t require the same level of attention.  I have no plan or schedule for this, but the colours would be great for a baby or child afghan.  I guess I’ll just work on it until I lose interest, and then see how big it is.

The other nice thing about crochet is that I get to use my wooden sewing box.

This box has no real value other than sentimental, but my grandfather made it in high school shop class in the mid-1930’s.  I don’t really even know how it came to be in my possession, but I love it and think of him every time I see it.

2 thoughts on “I blame blogging

  1. Lovely work, my dear. It’s nice to have a change of pace once in a while, isn’t it? Sentimental value is priceless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

