quilts

Jumping in

I love machine quilting.  I love looking at it.  I love the idea of how much faster it is than hand quilting.  Seeing all the different free motion designs is inspiring.  But I have not really DONE machine quilting.  When I put a lot of work into a quilt top, I am nervous of machine quilting, because I don’t want to ruin it.  Picking out bad machine quilting would not be fun.

I know I need to get over this, so I signed up for a course on craftsy.com.  The class is “Machine Quilting” done by Wendy Butler Burns.  I am about half-way through.  This is a great platform for classes.  There are recorded videos, so you can watch the classes on your own time.  You can take notes and bookmark places in the video, and you can post questions at your bookmarks – just like putting your hand up in class.  Questions are in a forum, so the instructor and all other students can see them and answer or comment.  You can also post pictures of finished projects of problems.  It is not live, so there is no instant discussion, but when I posted a question, Wendy answered the next day.  They had a sale for Black Friday, so I registered for another class, but I haven’t actually looked at it yet.

This is the push I needed.  Saturday I had a marathon and basted G1’s quilt and began quilting it.  I am doing straight-line quilting with a walking foot, so it is not too complicated or scary.  I can almost guarantee that the girls’ quilts will be done by the end of the year.  I haven’t even started the boys’ yet, so no hope there.  Fifty percent is not bad when you consider that during my prime piecing months, I had no sewing machine.  That will give me a goal for next year.

3 thoughts on “Jumping in

  1. Oh, such pretty colors! That is a really great quilt. And good for you for jumping in with machine quilting. I remember that feeling of not wanting to mess up the quilting. I quilted my first quilt just over a year ago, and hated machine quilting SO much that I didn’t think I’d ever do it again. But, I kept at it and now I can do a reasonable job with free-motion. But I still feel nervous starting a new quilt and worry that I’ll mess it up. I’ll have to check out those classes on Craftsy.com. I’m really anxious to learn more about machine quilting!

    xo -E

    Like

  2. I have a special foot for my machine that has a guide right in the middle of it. The guide travels in the ‘ditch’ and the needle tracks along behind. It’s great for ‘stitching in the ditch’. Good luck with this. The colours are so pretty and I think it will suit her very well. Machine quilting isn’t for everyone, but some of the results are spectacular. It will be my method of quilting – if I ever do another one 😉

    Like

  3. Machine quilting is the only quilting I’ll do. I tried hand-quilting one time and 2 stitches in, I knew it wasn’t even close to being right for me and my disposition. I have a quilting foot for my machine, too, and it’s great.

    Have fun! I love how the top looks and am curious to hear your opinion on the progress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

