quilts

Just in Time

Well, we finally got over all the sickness, which can take a while when you have four kids in the house.  The little time out slowed me down, but I managed to finish the  binding for my Spring Quilt just an hour before I had to take it to my guild meeting.  This is a challenge quilt for our quilt show.  We were given two fat quarters and had to make a miniature or wall-hanging with the theme of “spring”.  There are a lot of great quilters in the guild, so I am excited to see what people come out with.  Mine will definitely not stand a chance for the “original interpretation of the theme” award, since it is a pretty traditional and not very original wall hanging.  I took the advice of a recent speaker and made it for me, not for the judges.  At the end of the day it will be hanging in my house.

The piece includes machine piecing, paper piecing, 3-dimensional piecing and hand appliqué so maybe they’ll be impressed with the number of techniques in one piece.  I finished the top early, so decided to hand quilt it.  This of course took longer than I anticipated, but looks pretty good.  When I was working on it, my son said “Wouldn’t it be a lot faster to do that on your sewing machine?”  Hopefully by this time next year, my free motion quilting will be good enough to try on something like this.  Now that I finally have this out of the way, I can get back to my other projects.  I’ll show full pictures of this after the quilt show, I don’t want to give anything away.

One thought on “Just in Time

Leave a Reply

