machine quilting · quilts

Still Free-motion Quilting

I haven’t given up on learning free-motion quilting. I haven’t done my 2012 FMQ challenge for March yet, but I still have lots of time :).  I have, however, done some practicing.

This is a really old UFO.  It was one of the first projects I did when I started quilting.  It was good practice for half-square triangles and piecing.  It is about four feet square, so is more of a lap quilt.  I thought it was appropriate that I use it to practice free-motion quilting.  I don’t have any plans for it yet.  I quilted it with medium-sized stippling all over.  I would feel comfortable now stippling a bed-sized quilt, so I’ve definitely come a long way.  Now it just needs binding, and then I have another finished project.

2 thoughts on “Still Free-motion Quilting

  1. I really like the colors of this quilt, there is something comforting in the soft tones. And I think you’re brave for having tried the stars and loops, I just skipped that pattern in the FMQ, I didn’t think I could do it. But YOU did, nice!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

