Dutch quilt · quilts

Still going …

It’s been two months since I posted my progress on the Dutch Quilt.  February had 15 blocks and March had 14 blocks, so neither met my quota of 20 blocks per month, but I am not so far behind that I can never catch up.  My bin of blocks is getting fuller.

I heard an interesting story this month from the grandmother of a girl who goes to music class with my daughter.  She told me that her grandmother was a quilter.  I have no idea how long ago this was, but at least in the first half of the 1900’s.  There were a number of quilts floating around the family that no one knew what to do with.  They were falling apart, but they didn’t want to get rid of them because grandma made them.  My friend finally took a deep breath, grabbed some scissors and cut out the good blocks and had them framed.  The framer told her they were very difficult to work with, but they turned out really nicely.  Now all the family members have beautiful framed blocks to remember grandma.

I thought that was such a nice story.  It was nice to hear of a family treasuring an heirloom.  I still have a long way to go before I have an heirloom.

147 blocks done.  361 to go.

2 thoughts on “Still going …

  1. I own an heirloom you created! My wedding quilt is amazing and I love the fact that it graces our bed. It will definately be passed on to one of our girls. Oh, I have one quilt and two girls. I guess it’s time for you to start our 15 year gift – gives you 5 years to get it done:)
    ~a loving little sister~

    Like

Leave a Reply

