machine quilting

Another Last Minute Finish

Here I am with another last-minute finish for the 2012 FMQ Challenge hosted by SewCalGal.  I don’t mean to be squeaking under the wire every month, but life (and a queen-sized charity quilt) gets in the way.  This challenge was difficult for me, but I think with more practice I would enjoy it.  One of the things I like best about hand quilting is that you can mark a design and quilt it perfectly.  It has a different look than spontaneous free-hand quilting.  This technique by Don Linn uses marked designs for free-motion quilting.  I like the idea and the process, but have to admit that I am not very good at tracing lines.  Anyplace where I have to backtrack over my own stitches, it is a bit of a problem.  I know the answer is more practice, so I will keep working on it.

I used dark thread on white fabric so that I could evaluate it easier.  I am getting much better at keeping a consistent stitch length and moving the fabric is coming more naturally.  As you can see, tracing lines was not easy, but there is potential there.  I keep reminding myself that when my 4yo writes her name, I think it’s great even though it’s not perfect penmanship.  Maybe by the time she can write her name perfectly, I will be able to do this better.

One thought on “Another Last Minute Finish

  1. Dark thread on white fabric is a great way to improve on our FMQ skills. It really shows the design and stitching.
    I think you did a great job.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

    PS – The 2012 FMQ Challene is all about learning/improving our FMQ skills, so I hope you don’t feel pressure in future monthly challenges. Take your time, enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

