embroidery · machine quilting · quilts

Church Quilt

Wow!  It’s May 2 and I already have a finish for the month.  It was even finished super-early – the deadline was May 5.  This is the quilt for the Mother’s Day breakfast at our church.  Someone will win it.  I had lots of ideas for great free motion quilting, but in the end just did straight line with a walking foot.  Too much quilting would distract from the embroidery, and I don’t think my skill are up to it yet. I know this is not the best picture, but it is a queen-sized quilt on the floor.  Hopefully on Saturday I can get a picture with a couple of people holding it up.  This gives an idea of the layout.

Each block contains a Bible verse that was embroidered by a different woman.  I liked seeing all the different fonts that people used.

The centre block is to commemorate the event, and I added two more machine-embroidered blocks just to balance the layout.

My husband took a bunch of pictures when I was quilting it, so I thought I’d throw them in just for fun.  These are not posed, I was trying to ignore him.

3 thoughts on “Church Quilt

  1. It was so nice to see this quilt – it’s fantastic, and what an amazing thing to have parts made by so many people! You did a wonderful job putting it all together!

    Like

Leave a Reply

