machine quilting

May FMQ Challenge

Wow!  I actually did this challenge before the last day of the month.  I was excited to see that the guest teacher / expert for May is Leah Day.  I have read her blog and seen a lot of her free-motion quilting clips on Youtube.  She is great at free-motion quilting and an inspiration to just practice, practice, practice.  One year she did 365 designs.  I am thinking of doing a sampler quilt like hers, but probably not as big.  Maybe 100 designs – 2 per week.

Her challenge for May was a large stippling with a wavy line crossing back and forth over the stippling.  Here is my try at it.  The blocks are 6″ square, to give you an idea of scale.

It looks okay from a distance.  When I’m at the machine, about 4″ away, I can see all the flaws.  I still really  need to work on keeping the stitch length consistent and curves smooth.  Overall, I am pretty pleased with this month’s challenge.  It is probably the easiest month so far, but still looks interesting.  Thanks to SewCalGal for organizing the challenge and to all the monthly experts.  I have learned so much and it has given me a lot of things to work on.

3 thoughts on “May FMQ Challenge

Leave a Reply

