machine quilting

June FMQ Challenge

Here is my June assignment for the 2012 FMQ Challenge.  This one was a lot of fun.  It was basically doodling on fabric, so I tried a bunch of different designs.  I used a variegated thread on plain white fabric.  While I was working on the grid pattern, G2 said “that’s a nice basket”.  It would certainly be appropriate for a basket design.

At this stage, I can’t imagine doing a quilt with this much quilting on it.  The heavy stitching makes the piece quite stiff.  It would be okay for place mats or a wall-hanging, but probably not for a bed quilt.  I can’t believe how much I’ve improved since January.  The mini stippling was pretty easy, and my stitches are a lot more even.  This challenge has been great practice.

4 thoughts on “June FMQ Challenge

Leave a Reply

