machine quilting · quilts

Special Gift

I am so excited to be going on a sewing vacation.  Not a vacation from sewing, but a vacation to sew.  I have wanted to do something like this for a lot of years, but this is the first time I have the chance.  The main reason this is possible is my husband’s sister is helping look after my kids while I’m away.  I thought a quilt would be an appropriate thank-you gift.

I had two sets of fat quarters that I was considering.  I decided to let my kids help decide.  Interestingly, all of my kids said “Group A would match her house better, but I think she’ll like group B better.”  They all voted for B, so that’s what I used.  It doesn’t particularly match her house, but I love the colours and I think she will too.

It is just random squares, and I actually managed to be random – it is quite difficult for me to do something without trying to arrange patterns.  I took the easy way out and did straight-line quilting with a walking foot.

I hope she likes it.  It is made with a lot of thanks and love.

 

3 thoughts on “Special Gift

Leave a Reply

