sewing

Getting Ready for School

There are two weeks left until school starts.  At our house, kids are going back to school after a year of home school, so there are a lot of nerves and excitement at our house right now.  We got the school supply list, so they all have things they need.  I wanted to make pencil cases since it would be fun and I could embroider their names onto them.  I didn’t have a pattern, so had to experiment.  It only took three tries to get something I was really happy with.

The first try had the zipper on top.  It is a big clunky zipper which I like, but it was kind of a pain to put in.  It would be okay if I was only making one, but definitely not the quickest or easiest.

Second try was okay.  I went with a regular dressmaking zipper that goes right into the seams.  This was the first time I had a long zipper and cut it down, and it was actually quite easy.  I liked this one, but wanted the zipper a bit lower onto the side.

Finally a good one.  Now that I have a pattern, I think I could make it in under ten minutes on my serger.  If I get around to it, I’ll put up a tutorial.

The younger kids like them, and they have their names embroidered onto the lower colour piece.  G1 said she definitely does not want one of these for grade eight, so I’m not going to push it.  She can buy one at the store as long as she doesn’t let the others see :).

3 thoughts on “Getting Ready for School

  1. Hmmm…I would like one of these fashionable color block pencil cases myself. It might be more grown-up without the name on it. Poor G1; she doesn’t know what is good for her. She would be the envy of the trendy crowd.

    Like

Leave a Reply

