machine quilting · quilts

More Free-motion Quilting

All my practice is paying off.  I am working on a 9-patch sampler quilt.  I am about a quarter of the way through quilting it, and I’m really pleased with the results.  Each block is quilted with designs to go with the piecing.

IMG_2007

All the feathers from B2’s quilt paid off.  These are better than anything on there, but doing so many helped me learn.

IMG_2006

This was done free-style with no marking, so it is kind of off-centre in a few points, but overall I’m happy with it.

IMG_2009

 

I really like looking at the back.  This shows how far I’ve come with tension, speed, and being able to trace a line.

The only down side to free-motion quilting that I’ve found is how much thread is used.  I had to take a break for a couple of days because I ran out and have to get the quilt shop to stock up.  I’ll try not to buy anything else while I’m there.  Maybe I should ask for quilting thread for my birthday?

8 thoughts on “More Free-motion Quilting

Leave a Reply

