machine quilting · quilts

B1 Quilt is Done

I finally finished my goal for 2011.  In January 2011, I made the goal of making a quilt for each one of my four children.  Due to lack of time and unforeseen circumstances (eg. broken sewing machine, international move) I only completed two.  In 2012, I progressed on both the boys’ quilts and managed to finish B2’s quilt in January 2013.  When I gave it to him, B1 did a big song and dance about him being the only one who did not have a quilt.  I told him that I should be able to finish it by the next week.  Then he said that the other quilts took months and months to make and if I finished his in a week, that meant that either his was smaller or of lesser quality than the others.  So I did what any mom would do.  I finished it and then hid it in a closet for a month so that he would think it took longer to make.  Finally I gave it to him, and he was very happy with it.

IMG_2036

This quilt uses the same fabrics as B2’s quilt, but it was cut into squares and and I used the disappearing nine-patch technique.

IMG_2037

 

The quilting was definitely faster than B2’s.  I just did a meander over the whole quilt.

What can I say about B1?  He is a very smart and serious ten-year-old boy who wants to know about everything.  He has a strong sense of right and wrong and fights for justice.  He would be an excellent referee.  He needs to learn how to handle the stress of not being perfect, but I am very proud of the young man he is becoming.

Now that each of my children have a quilt, I can cross it off my list and move on to other projects.

3 thoughts on “B1 Quilt is Done

Leave a Reply

