fabric · sewing

It’s a boy!

 I am now at that stage of life where not many of my friends are having children. A lot of us have kids finishing high school, so we talk about things like university admissions and tuition rates. My husband’s sisters are the stage beyond that and are new grandmothers. 

One of my nephews and his wife are expecting their first child in May, so that will make me a great aunt for the seventh time.  Last weekend I went to a shower for them. I was originally going to make them a quilt, but my mother in law asked me to help her make a quilt, so I made something different. 

  

Receiving blankets are quick to make and useful to have around. These are larger than most that you buy in the store so they can be used for a long time. They might be too big for a small newborn, but I remember how fast babies grow. 
  

I just rounded off the corners and finished the edge with my serger. What a quick and easy gift. 

  

I also made this little guy. I got the pattern from youcanmakethis.com. It’s an adorable turtle by DIY Fluffies. It’s been a while since I made a stuffed animal, and I forgot how fiddly it is.  Honestly, a simple quilt would probably be faster to make.  But it was fun to do, and now two of my kids want one. We’ll see about that. 

 

I made it all with leftover pieces, so that’s a bonus. The pattern in the middle of the shell has made me think of turtles since I bought it, so I guess it was just a matter of time. I hope the new little boy likes it. 

3 thoughts on “It’s a boy!

  1. What great gifts. I love the turtle. The receiving blankets are great and are useful for a long time. My grands used them in the carseat for that little “extra warmth” when the needed it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

