Uncategorized

Another one with yarn

In late 2015, there was a crochet pattern going around for a peppermint afghan.  The pattern was available for free from Red Heart.  I loved it.  I still love it.  I went out and got yarn and decided to make it.  It was going to be my take-along project for piano lessons, swimming lessons, etc.  I started making it, but I didn’t enjoy making it.  The pattern was okay, once I got the hang of it, but the big problem was my yarn.  It was cheap “value” yarn and just didn’t feel nice to work with.

I have learned my lesson, and will not buy yarn again unless it passes the touch test.  But I am far too thrifty to throw out all that yarn.  I knew a simpler pattern would be done more quickly, and I would actually do it, so I went with diagonal stripes.  I didn’t use a pattern, but if you google “diagonal stripe afghan”, you can find lots of instructions for it.

img_2454

It looks just right in my little corner.  Since I mostly sit on it, rather than cuddle under it, the texture is not as important.  This is where I sit like a queen in the morning to watch my kids get their breakfast, make their lunches and get out the door for school.  I also spend the time doing other hand projects.

So, in the end, it wasn’t too much of a loss.  The peppermint afghan is still in the back of my mind, but I probably won’t bother.  One red and white afghan is enough.

2 thoughts on “Another one with yarn

Leave a Reply

